BIOGRAPHY » DEUTSCH «

The ENSEMBLE CLASSIQUE, founded in 1986 in the cultural center of Bad Wörishofen is the shining star in the "brass world". Since the grand début at the Schleswig- Holstein Music Festival in 1989 the rapid rise of the young artists could not be stopped. The unique homogenous sound, the technical brilliance as well as the superb musical feeling have made the ENSEMBLE CLASSIQUE one of today's internationally reputed, well known and most popular brass ensembles. Exclusive productions with SONY CLASSICAL and UNIVERSAL CLASSICS amphasize these artists' outstanding position in the music world.

What are the reasons for this extraordinary success? One reason is the sheer top quality performed by the musicians both as soloists and as ensemble. The other reason is their versatile repertoire ranging from Renaissance to Modern, thus including classical music as well as jazz.

Further reasons for the ENSEMBLE CLASSIQUE'S musical splendor can be found in its musical leader, Winfried Roch who both as arranger and composer gives the ensemble a distinctive and exclusive character.

Among his most reputed compositions are the opening fanfare for the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival commissined by Professor Justus Frantz as well as the magic signature tune for David Copperfield.

As musical ambassadors for Rotary International Winfried Roch composed the "Fanfare Rotary International" dedicated to the Rotarian world president Paulo V.C. Costa for his endeavors to protect the threatened rain forests. The first performance ot this fanfare took place in Mexiko City in 1991.

For the year 2000 Winfried Roch cimposed the "Unesco Hymn - Fanfare of the Nations", the official hymn of peace for UNESCO, a unique composition promoting international unity. With this fanfare the ENSEMBLE CLASSIQUE opened its "Memory of the World Concert" at the Konzerthaus Berlin on 12 January 2003 where Ludwig van Beethoven's 9th Symphony was adopted into UNESCO's world cultural heritage.

In 2005/2006 the Ensemble Classique will embark on their anniversary tour opening with a gala concert at the UNO in New York and the hymn "Europe meets America". This composition from the pen of Winfried Roch is performed in the most renowned music capitals of the world as a sign of German- American solidarity as well as international understanding. The Ensemble Classique was appointed the musical ambassador of NATO for this production.

Great concert tours led the ensemble to the world's most distinguished musical centers in Germany, Switzerland, Austria, France, Italy, Spain, The Benelux countries, Mexico, North and South America and Japan.

During their concerts at famous music festivals e. g. the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival, the Salzburg International Festival Summer or at numerous open-air, castle and church concerts, television broadcasts or other musical settings, these artists are convincing with their brilliant stylistic sense and distinctive musical presence.

Werever the ENSEMBLE CLASSIQUE appears, it is admired and celebrated enthusiastically by music lovers of all ages.

In accordance with Leonhard Bernstein's quotation "Let's make music as friends", the ensemble has an irrestible attraction for its audience. The audience loves those musicians the most who do not play for themselves but for the people who listen to their music. This exactly is the reason for the special magic surrounding the brass sextet ENSEMBLE CLASSIQUE creates when entering the stage.

BIOGRAPHIE » ENGLISH «

Das Blechbläsersextett Ensemble Classique wurde 1986 in der Kulturmetropole Bad Wörishofen gegründet. Seit dem grandiosen Debüt beim Schleswig-Holstein Musik-Festival im Jahre 1989 war die steile Karriere der jungen Künstler nicht mehr aufzuhalten. Der einzigartige homogene Klang, die technische Brillanz sowie die superbe Musikalität ließen das Ensemble Classique rasch zu den international renommiertesten, bekanntesten und beliebtesten Blechbläserensembles unserer Zeit aufsteigen. Exklusivproduktionen mit SONY CLASSICAL und UNIVERSAL CLASSICS unterstreichen diese herausragende Stellung der Künstler.

Woher dieser Erfolg? Zum einen, weil die Musiker solistisch und als Ensemble zu überzeugen wissen. Zum anderen, wegen ihres vielseitigen Repertoires, das von der Renaissance bis zur Moderne reicht, Klassik ebenso einschließt wie Jazz.

Weitere Gründe für die musikalische Strahlkraft des Ensemble Classique sind bei seinem künstlerischen Leiter, Winfried Roch, zu suchen, der als Arrangeur und Komponist dem Ensemble eine unverwechselbare und exklusive Note verleiht.

Zu seinen bekanntesten Kompositionen zählen die im Auftrag von Professor Justus Frantz komponierte Eröffnungsfanfare des Schleswig-Holstein Musik-Festivals sowie die magische Erkennungsmelodie für David Copperfield.

Als musikalischer Botschafter von Rotary International schrieb Winfried Roch die "Fanfare Rotary International", die er dem rotarischen Weltpräsidenten Paulo V. C. Costa für dessen Engagement um die bedrohten Regenwälder widmete. In Mexico wurde das Werk 1991 uraufgeführt.

Im Jahr 2000 komponierte Winfried Roch mit der "Unesco-Hymne - Fanfare of the nations" die offizielle Friedenshymne für UNESCO, ein einzigartig völkerverbindendes Werk. Mit dieser Fanfare eröffnete das Ensemble Classique das "Memory of the world concert" im Konzerthaus Berlin, wo die 9. Sinfonie von Ludwig van Beethoven in das Weltkulturerbe der UNESCO aufgenommen wurde.

In 2005/06 unternimmt das Ensemble Classique eine Jubiläums-Tournee, die mit einem Gala-Konzert bei der UNO in New York und der Hymne "Europe meets America" eröffnet wird. Diese Komposition aus der Feder von Winfried Roch erklingt in den bekanntesten Musikmetropolen der Welt als Zeichen der deutschamerikanischen Verbundenheit sowie der internationalen Völkerverständigung. Für dieses Engagement wurde das Ensemble Classique zum musikalischen Botschafter der NATO ernannt.

Am 19.6.2005 eröffnete das ENSEMBLE CLASSIQUE das Kunst- und Kulturprogramm der Bundesregierung zur Fußballweltmeisterschaft 2006. Das Galakonzert in der Alten Oper Frankfurt stand unter der Schirmherrschaft von OK-Präsident Franz Beckenbauer und Bundesinnenminister Otto Schily.

Große Konzertreisen führten das Ensemble in die bedeutendsten Musikmetropolen rund um den Globus (Deutschland, Schweiz, Österreich, Frankreich, Italien, Spanien, Benelux, Mexico, Nordund Südamerika).

Bei ihren Auftritten im Rahmen namhafter Musikfestivals (u. a. Schleswig-Holstein Musik-Festival, Rheingau Musik Festival, internationaler Salzburger Festspielsommer, Ludwigsburger Festspiele) oder zahlreicher Open-Air-, Schloßund Kirchenkonzerte, Fernsehauftritten und musikalischen Umrahmungen überzeugen die Künstler mit brillanter Stilfestigkeit sowie ausgeprägter musikalischer Präsenz.

Wo auch immer das Ensemble Classique auftritt, wird es von Musikliebhabern aller Altersgruppen enthusiastisch gefeiert und umjubelt - bestaunt und bewundert.

Gemäß dem Zitat ihres Wegbereiters Leonard Bernstein "Let's make music as friends" strahlt das Ensemble auf der Bühne gegenüber seinen Zuhörern eine unwiderstehliche Anziehungskraft aus. Beliebt sind jene Künstler, denen das Publikum glaubt, daß sie nicht für sich selbst spielen, sondern für die Menschen, die ihnen zuhören. Das ist es wohl, was den besonderen Zauber bewirkt, wenn das Blechbläsersextett Ensemble Classique das Podium betritt.